Knitting

Let’s talk knitting, shall we?

DSC_0333 A hobby that has been loved and used by many, it is stressful just as much as it is therapeutic. When I first started knitting it took a lot of concentration and patience. Learning the many different stitches, how to follow the tricky directions, and having to take out multiple rows because I wasn’t paying close enough attention are just some of the frustrating aspects.

DSC_0481 copyDSC_0482I first learned to knit last winter, and picked it back up this year when the holidays were fast approaching (knitting is a great hobby that also turns out beautiful homemade gifts for loved ones). Whenever it was snowing and too cold to go outside, I spent time in front of roaring fires and classic movies making hat after hat. I can now whip up a hat in one evening, and cable knit like a pro.

DSC_0332

In my opinion, knitting does not get the praise it deserves. People see it as a hobby for the elders and not a hobby worthy of the youngin’s time. My response to that is okay yes, maybe I am an old soul, but knitting has become quite the popular hobby these days. Anthropologie even blogged about it as a party idea, like with your girlfriends, popcorn, and champagne. And let’s get real, what girl hasn’t pinned a picture of a chunky cable knit blanket this year? Exactly.

DSC_0479I look at the beautiful sweaters, blankets, hats, scarves, gloves, and christmas stockings that my grandmothers, mother, and aunts have so lovingly made in the past and cannot help but want to make the same things for my family to enjoy in the future.

DSC_0475 copyDSC_0476 copyDSC_0477 copyI want these pieces to last, and they will.

And Happy Happy Birthday to my lovely sister-in-law who shares my love for knitting!

One thought on “Knitting

Leave a Reply

